Let Creatives Breathe!

1799005_278233885669560_1701753404646078903_oFor those of you that don’t know, I also write guest posts for the wonderful Lisa Cherry on her inspirational blog, www.lisacherry.co.uk.

What I love about her blog is that I can really vent about something that inspires me and fully express myself, including my first guest post ‘Content Marketing Demands Change for Creatives‘. You also may have noticed that I have become more open recently, which is very much down to this lady – so thank you Lisa!

I have been passionate about the subject of working environments for creatives for a very long time. Having been made to feel like an alien in the workplace so many times in the past. The emphasis on digital marketing came from my recent observations on a growing need for creative content online. While digital marketing or SEO agencies may have been able to survive without creatives in the past – it is only by embracing them that they will be able to move forward in the industry and stay ahead of the competition.

But I want to reiterate here that it isn’t just creatives that need the room to breathe – we all crave freedom and development ultimately and since the recession hit, more and more of us are aware that there is no longer security in permanent employment. We are increasingly seeking independence and learning to become self-sufficient – so employers, you will suffer down the line if you don’t take notice of this shift now.

Shut up and do it, or JFDI (just fucking do it) if you will, is dead and in my opinion, should never have been alive! Motivate, inspire, encourage and develop your staff. Allow them to live and breathe while they work, after all we spend most of our lives at work.

Down with corporate environments!!!!!

It is with this in mind that I have also recently began working on social enterprise, ALT-MU Creative. A collaborative creative network that I hope to build up over the next few years. Watch this space!

Leave a comment